What happened in 2015

My dad met death like an unwelcome guest
who had come to his door unasked: and he
must ask death in, give even death’s request
a fair hearing: offer to make some tea.

My mum meets death with her eyes closed: asleep,
her heart enlarged strives one more beat, her breath
rattles her chest, her legs kick, her words keep
putting away her own belief in death.

Twenty-fifteen the year I saw my dad
meet death open-eyed, going away from us
quietly as if he had his own work, had
to go away alone: naught to discuss.

Twenty-fifteen the year I saw my mum
follow her husband, whatever may come.

Geoffrey Carnall, 1st February 1927-20th February 2015
Elisabeth Carnall, 17th July 1935-23rd December 2015

2 Comments

Filed under Personal

2 responses to “What happened in 2015

  1. I am so sorry. My Dad died this year too, in May, so I understand – but I still have my Mum. I can’t imagine how bad it must be to lose both parents so close together. Heartfelt sympathies.

Leave a Reply

