Digby Jones and Love My Lotto

Digby Jones There’s an old old joke which last night’s Question Time made me think of:

A man moves to a village in Wales and gets talking to an old man from the village.
He asks the old man what his name is, but the old man gets very irate at this point and says:
– See that line of houses over there? I built them all, but do they call me Jones the house builder? Do they hell!
– See those railway lines over there? I laid them all, but do they call me Jones the engineer? Do they hell!
– See those bridges over that river? I built them all, but do they call me Jones the bridge builder? Do they hell!
– But, a long long time ago, I shagged ONE sheep…

As ever when watching Question Time I was doing some casual online research about the speakers, especially where I didn’t know them very well, and I had been fortunate enough never previously to have encountered the most stereotypical roaring Tory boar, Sir Lord Digby Jones of Birmingham.

(I didn’t like him. I was surprised, since I’d expected the one I’d like least would be either Alan Duncan or Emma Boon of the Reluctant Taxpayers Alliance.)

The things I found out about Digby Jones were quite thoroughly distracting, though. One thing that came up a bit late was a scam – sorry, a “brand new lottery syndicate system” that he launched in the UK on 20th December 2010. LoveMyLotto is not a scam. They make a point of saying so, frequently. And it is, in fact, quite straightforward – once you do the arithmetic.

What you do, if you join as a Bronze member, is pay LoveMyLotto £18 a month. For this, Sir Digby Jones minions will find you 9 other Bronze members to be in a syndicate with. You don’t need to know who they are. Collectively, you pay LoveMyLotto £180 a month. For this the 10 of you get:

16 Entries into Daily Draw – £32
20 Entries into Wed UK Lottery – £20
12 Entries into Fri EuroMillions – £24
12 Entries into Millionaire Raffle – free
20 Entries into Sat UK Lottery- £20
Total cost: £98.
Remainder taken by LoveMyLotto: £82.

So for every £98 Love My Lotto Bronze members spend on lottery tickets, it’s an automatic win by Love My Lotto. Every month. (If you take out a monthly subscription, each Bronze member has 15 Premium Bonds credited to you for that month’s PB draw – this is called getting “chances” to win on Premium Bonds. The difference is, if you buy your own Premium Bonds, you can cash them in at any time: if they are owned by Love My Lotto you can’t.)

It doesn’t actually get any better as you move up to Silver or Gold membership, except that you spend more and the Love My Lotto syndicates get bigger. Well, it gets better for Love My Lotto: every Gold syndicate wins £128 a month for LoveMyLotto.

Love My Lotto also offers a pyramid selling scheme to recruit other suckers in to LoveMyLotto:

If you want to earn money from home, I mean REALLY want to earn money from home, then it doesn’t really get much easier than this does it?!

Once your referred customer has joined a Love My Lotto syndicate and bought an entry into a Multi Lottery Syndicate you will become eligible for commissions straight away. Love my Lotto are a totally UK-based organisation, operating from offices in Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire. Their focus is on offering both Players and Affiliates a totally transparent, credible, and trustworthy company to team up with and they are supporting people who want to earn money from home. They offer total transparency, credibility and are totally trustworthy. The LoveMyLotto Syndicate opened for business mid December 2010 and are the first and one of a kind, Love My Lotto is, at this time, the only National Lottery Syndicate you will find in the United Kingdom and the games packages are incredible value for money.

It’s an excellent rule of thumb: never trust job ads with interrobangs.

From Online Gambling-are You Aware Of The Scams?:

The bottom line is that, if it looks and sounds too good to be true, chances are it is a scam.

If certain rules and regulations are too imprecise to be understood, chances are high it may be a scam. This is because scammers will normally not lay down all the facts. They have hidden agendas or prices that may reap extra money as soon as they get their victim on the hook.

A gambling deal that will offer one thing for nothing is unquestionably a scam. Normally, individuals get something without giving in return,at first. What’s more, they even give individuals a refund guarantee, which may sound so attractive however all of the more it is rather like an enticement.

According to the Love My Lotto website: The two Founding Directors have decades of experience within the gaming industry, both having held the positions of Chairman & Managing Director in substantial gaming concerns. They are supported by an experienced board with a Corporate Governance Group chaired by Lord Digby Jones of Birmingham, formerly of the CBI.

So there’s that.

—-
Two years later, Digby Jones was in the news again, proposing that if children can’t read or do basic arithmetic properly by age five, they should be denied proper benefits via their parents: their family should be given only food vouchers. That’ll teach them.

5 Comments

Filed under Justice, Politics

5 responses to “Digby Jones and Love My Lotto

  1. Good on you. I love your blogs, so refreshing and uncompromising.

  2. lottomad

    and to boot… our friend Lord Digby pockets 3% of everything you spend!


    3% Shareholdings in Jackpot Store Ltd t/a LoveMyLotto
    Source: http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/digby-jones/38751

  3. Mark

    The reference to “Pyramid” selling scheme, it is in fact illegal in the UK to sell via this method. The other term that is used that describes this type of selling is MLM or Multi Level Marketing. Again that is illegal to sell via these schemes in the UK.

  4. lottomad

    I am a little distraught to learn the jackpot store has ceased trading this year and am concerned for my monies.

    Can you tell me please how to contact longruff limited or haywire marketing in the terms and conditions because the details are not listed on the contact us page.

  5. Lee

    umm and what lovemylotto did to some affiliates “the people that got them their customers” is damm right criminal. I sent them over 400 sign ups and so much more traffic, 60 to 80 of them were paying players, because i wasnt sending them 20 sign ups a month after google updates they closed my account and my residual income from the sign ups i sent them was lost to me. hows that!!!

Leave a Reply

