Pea soup and Brie pie

I’ve been wondering for a while What Kind of Blog This Should Be (I believe all new blogfounders wonder this at some point).

It seems to have become a politics blog with a Sherlock Holmes flavour, and that’s really fine with me. But I meant it to be a general blog about Stuff I Like.

So would it be okay if once in a while I posted about food?

On Sunday evening I made one of my standbys, pea soup. At its most basic, this is a 454g pack of frozen peas and a vegetable stock cube. Empty frozen peas into a pan, cover the peas with boiling water, add the stock cube, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the water boils, then soup the peas with a stick blender. This gives you two substantial bowls of very good pea soup, and takes about 10 minutes. I have an Extended Recipe when there’s time (and broccoli) and this is it:

Ingredients

454g pack of frozen peas
1 vegetable stock cube
A head of broccoli
An apple
A pat of butter

I don’t add the broccoli florets to the soup – they’re in the fridge even now awaiting their nobler destiny as a pizza topping. (I also made bread tonight, so I have leftover dough.) You could, though. I just like baking the florets separately with cheese.

Method

Melt the butter. Chop the broccoli stems (reserve the florets for another destiny). Chop and core the apple. Saute the broccoli and apple chunks in butter until soft. Add the frozen peas. Cover with boiling water. Add the vegetable stock cube. Simmer till the water comes to the boil again. Use your stick blender to turn the pea-broccoli-apple mix into soup. Season to taste with salt / pepper.

Result:

Bowl of pea soup

I also made, as an experiment, Brie pie. This I had never done before, but the theory seemed pretty sound, and I thought I would try it out on me before doing it for a wider audience.

Ingredients

1 pack of puff pastry
1 whole round of Brie

They had both been just waiting quietly since Christmas, the Brie in the fridge and the puff pastry in the freezer, so really, I had nothing to lose if it turned out to be a terrible failure.

Method

Cut the puff pastry into two unequal pieces. Roll the larger piece out till it’s larger than the round of Brie. Roll the smaller piece out till it’s almost the size of the Brie itself. I didn’t trim the edges neatly because I wasn’t doing it for anyone but me, but it would be a good idea.

Make slices in the top crust of the Brie. Put the smaller piece on top of the Brie. Fold the larger piece carefully around the Brie, leaving enough to wrap over the top, and seal the edges to the smaller piece. (White of egg works perfectly for this: I just used cold water.)

Slice into the pastry topping, four or five clean cuts.

Bake in a hot oven until the top is browned.

Result:

Brie pie, just out of the oven

Doesn’t it look innocent? I thought I’d probably better wait till the cheese inside would have cooled a little before I sliced into it.

…yeah, that resolution didn’t last long:

Brie pie, just out of the oven, and some fool tried to cut a slice

I did have resolution then to wait a few minutes before removing the slice I’d just cut. Yes, most of the rest of the Brie ran like a runny thing.

But was it delicious? Yes. If you like Brie, of course. It was warm runny Brie encased in puff pastry, what’s not to like? I put the rest of the pie away in a box in the fridge. I don’t think it’ll keep well.

I… don’t think that’s going to matter.

3 Comments

Filed under recipes

3 responses to “Pea soup and Brie pie

  1. Why not cut the brie up into portions first, and wrapping each piece up in pastry? I have a wedge of camombert in the fridge, and enough rough puff pastry trimming in the fridge to try this tonight. Great idea.

    • That would have been far more sensible, yes.

      I had been thinking of this as a dramatic dinner party dish that should work, and indeed it does, though determining just when the pie is solid enough to be able to cut into is slightly problematic.

      It was a great flavour combo – hot Brie inside hot puff pastry – though definitely something to eat in small slices. And not nearly so much fun once it’s thoroughly chilled. I’ve used up quite a lot of the pre-baked Brie (unwrapped from the puff pastry shell) mostly on the pizza I talked about for the broccoli heads, and that was good too.

  2. It makes an acceptable pie crust, but it’s used more often in tartes than pies. (Also, it can fail if the pie filling has a lot of water, like a custard of Puff & Pie).

    Compared to traditional puff pastry, it’s much easier and less time consuming to make; compared to pie crust–no question–the pie crust is the easier.

Leave a Reply

