EdEqualElect: Liberton/Gilmerton Ward

Liberton/Gilmerton Ward (4 councillors)

8 candidates standing.

Winners last time: SNP (Tom Buchanan) in the first round. Labour (Norma M Hart) in the second round. After two independents, the Solidarity, Scottish Socialist, Scottish Green, and Conservative were eliminated, in the ninth round Liberal Democrats (Conor Snowden), and the second Labour candidate (Ian Murray) who didn’t make quota. Ian Murray was elected as an MP in May 2010, and the by-election held the seat for Labour (Bill Cook).

The incumbents standing are Tom Buchanan, Norma Hart, and Bill Cook.

The women standing are Norma Hart (Labour) and Joan Carter (Scottish Green).

Edinburgh Reporter on Norma Hart
Edinburgh Reporter on Joan Carter

Back to main post

Leave a comment

Filed under EdEqualElect Wards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.