EdEqualElect: City Centre Ward

City Centre Ward (3 councillors)

6 candidates standing.

This is the only ward where there are more women standing than council seats for the ward.

Winners last time: Liberal Democrats (Charles C Dundas) in the fifth round, after Liberal, Scottish Socialist, and Scottish Green were eliminated. SNP (David Beckett) in the 6th round, and Conservative (Joanna Mowat) in the eighth round after Labour was eliminated. David Beckett resigned and Alasdair Rankin held the seat (just) for the SNP in 2011.

The incumbents standing are Joanna Mowat and Alasdair Rankin.

The four women standing are Joanna Mowat (Conservative), Karen Doran (Labour), Julita Mazurek (Scottish Green), and Karen Michelle Hetherington (Liberal Party in Scotland).

Karen DoranAugust 2011

Edinburgh Reporter on Karen Doran
Edinburgh Reporter on Karen Michelle Hetherington
Edinburgh Reporter on Julita Mazurek
Edinburgh Reporter on Joanna Mowat

The Broughton Spurtle will host two hustings this year on 19 April for Leith Walk Ward and 25 April for City Centre Ward at Broughton St Marys Parish Church, 12-13 Bellevue Crescent, Edinburgh, Midlothian EH3 6NE (Edinburgh Reporter)

Joanna Mowat (Conservative), and Alasdair Rankin (SNP) and Iain Coleman (LibDems) are also taking part in the Edinburgh’s Active Citizenship Group will host a hustings on 7-9pm at Riddles Court, 332 Lawnmarket.

Back to main post

Leave a comment

Filed under EdEqualElect Wards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.